DIY Stamped Dish Towel

I don’t know why I never realized this before, but wine has more benefits beyond just drinking it. Well, the cork does at least! If you’re anything like me, having a nice glass of red wine after a long day at work is the best way to unwind and relax. In doing just that last night, it came to me that the cork I had just popped would make an awesome stamp for polka-dotting, and hey, it’s basically free! So I decided to put it to use and decorate some more dish towels!

dots2 

With my wine glass in hand, I got out some all-purpose black acrylic paint, some plain white dish towels, and the cork (plus one more larger cork I had lying around). You’ll want to make sure that you put some newspaper under the material that you’re stamping on as there’s a good chance it’ll leak through (I found this out the hard way earlier in the week).

20140911_203741

Once you have everything ready, dip your cork in the paint, fully cover it, and stamp, stamp, stamp! Stamp until your heart’s content!

20140911_203947

I started with the larger cork to get slightly larger dots, and then transferred to the smaller cork to fill in the gaps.

20140911_204802

And voila! Now I have some fun, dotted dish towels!

20140911_211616

I’m actually considering making them into curtains for our kitchen since they’re surprisingly long. I’ll let you know how that goes!

Happy stamping, friends!

hh2 (1)

Leave a Reply

